Sabbatical. Or, “Don’t Throw the Baby Out With The Bath Water”.

30 Apr

Image

When last I blogged I was amidst such adult life questions as to where to focus my attention this lifetime, and whether or not to pursue Uber Herbal, my tea company.  I am happy to report that the fog is lifting and forward movement has begun!

Last week I had a short little sit on the porch swing with a new friend who said that ultimately the goal of this life is to be happy.  She went further to declare that it is each individual’s responsibility to cultivate their own joy.  While this is nothing I had not heard before, this time I heard it different. I heard it as if it applied to me!  Strange, I know.  I tried it on anyway and I gained immediate clarity!  Oh!  So I do want the business, but I don’t want the form it has taken thus far.  I don’t want the ashes of my former efforts embedded in the foundation of my current expression.  I see now that some cords must get cut and a new approach taken.  Eureka!

Last week I also had the experience of illness.  First my little one was sick for hella days. Then, just when I thought I was in the clear, I went down hard.  It was the kind of sickness where zero productivity was possible.  Where just being home with my family was over stimulating and exhausting.  I felt like my head had been sewn between pillows and while I could still see clearly; my mind and my speech were miles away, shrouded.  It eased me into a witness role which turned out to be essential to this whole process.

In the role of intimate witness, I dissected this company into every possible piece.  I rearranged components and I approached with new angles.  I then prioritized my intuition, my happiness and my own desires.  This achieved results that excite me.

It helped me to have the courage to declare a sabbatical.  I’ve cancelled my farmers market season.  I’ve stopped brewing chai and elixirs for local cafes.  With the time that this frees up I am going to dig into the farm, diversify my product line, develop a strong brand and move into a lovely production space.

During this sabbatical I am still doing some things I really love.  Things that are easy and that get my products into people’s hands.  I’m still selling on Etsy and I’m still delivering products locally.  Also, I’m saying yes to a few of the opportunities that have recently presented.  In May I’ll be selling my current products through a few local, retail shops.

I am incredibly grateful to have both the opportunity and the wisdom to step back.  This is a big leap of faith, but ultimately I trust that when I fully emerge I will be way more passionate about it and so it will be emphatically received.  I feel such relief at freeing up my schedule to focus more on the farming aspect of my life and I know this will benefit both myself and the business greatly.  With clarity and forward movement  I am experiencing renewed excitement about my life.  Porch swingin’ last week brought right into my face that I had lost sight of prioritizing my own joy.  Being sick slowed me down to take the long hard look that was needed.  I am seeing my whole life with new eyes.  I am feeling good about this process and the resulting choices.

So many folks offered me honest, neutral, constructive feedback during this time and I am so very grateful to have received your love in this form.  Thanks to all of you for responding and for caring.  I look forward to blogging about a new and different subject next time!

2 Responses to “Sabbatical. Or, “Don’t Throw the Baby Out With The Bath Water”.”

  1. http://pureberrymaxreview.net May 5, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    • uberherbalmama May 6, 2013 at 3:13 am #

      Hi! No problem! The platform is called bueno. Hope this is helpful, thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

